1921 Duxfield Letters


My mother inherited three letters that had been passed down from her grandmother Elizabeth McLaren, nee Duxfield. Two of the letters were written by Elizabeth in 1921 when on holiday. The third was written about the same time and appears to be from a family friend in Newcastle Upon Tyne.

The first letter was written on the voyage from Wellington to England, between 1-14 May 1921 while sailing towards Panama.  The sixteen page letter describes Elizabeth’s illness due to being seasick, and once she had recovered, life on the ship. I have not transcribed this letter because it is of little genealogical interest.

The second letter is to my grandmother, written in August 1921 from Northern Ireland. Elizabeth and her husband Thomas McLaren were visiting family near Carmavey in County Antrim where Thomas had grown up. I have transcribed this letter: Letter from Ireland.

The third letter, from the family friend, describes the house where Elizabeth Duxfield spent her early childhood. The description mentions changes made to the house between the time when it was occupied by the Duxfields (until about 1865) and when the letter was written (about 1920). I have transcribed this letter also: Willington North Farm.

If you are a Duxfield or McLaren descendant you may be interested in reading the transcripts of these letters.

5 thoughts on “1921 Duxfield Letters

  1. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re
    just too excellent. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a wonderful website.

  2. Hello, I think your ѕite might be having
    browser compatibility issues. When I look at your
    blog іn Fіrefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has
    some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heaԁs
    up! Other then that, superb blog!

  3. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Many thanks, However I am going through issues with your RSS.

    I don’t understand why I cannot join it. Is there anybody else getting
    similar RSS issues? Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

